#TeachTheKids – St Francis High School, Nashik

Hi, I’m Mehul Patel and I specialize in Information Technology and Services. I’m passionate about what I do, and I love to help people. Nothing is more fulfilling than being part of a team with similar interests.

Mozilla Club :

MozClubNashik

Our motto is to enable people from all age groups and professions to be a part of making awesome things on the web. We teach all to develop their web literacy skills by spreading awareness and teaching the skills required to develop the web. To do so, we go to school, colleges, offices and any public spaces to teach them about the open source technologies.#MozClubNashik

 

Description :

#TeachTheKids is an initiative which aims at educating school kids about the basics of Computers, Internet and other similar stuff, in a fun and interactive way. This is also mainly concentrated on small schools with fewer facilities. The scope of this could be extended by forming Webmaker School Clubs.

 An initiative to bring exposure to school kids about the web.

Date & Time :

21st Oct. 2015 at 2p.m.

Venue :

St Francis High School,

Near Chetana Nagar Garden, Chetana nagar, Rane Nagar, Nashik, Maharashtra 422009

Members: 

  1. Mehul Patel(Organizer & Speaker)
  2. Jitesh Patil

Attendees :

200+ students

Agenda :

  • What is Computer ? and its parts?
  • What is difference between Desktop & Laptop?
  • What is an Internet? How it works?

This school called me 3+ times but due to some work so I can’t go there, last week I got a call from them again, this time I have decided that I’m going for sure, so date was finalized and I was also eagerly waiting to meet some new enthusiast kids.

Finally day was came, This was best day of my life because 1st time 2 little kids welcome me by giving me flower bouquet, thank you & welcome card.

Actually this was actually proud moment for me, because when I was in school I was also welcome some guest who came in our schools for some sessions, etc I’m still student and I felt very proud and happy that the day came that small kids are welcoming me! On top, both cards were cherry on cake for me. You know, these cards were hand-made by students & one of their teacher, also it have a very good “Thank you” messages in both card. This was so sweet! I was never forgot this, and will keep this as it my booklet for great and sweat memories. 🙂

_20151026_171649

 

Now, its my turn, So here I was on for the session :

What is COMPUTER?

My 1st question was to student, what do you know about computer? I got so many good answers from students. Most of like was that, they all have told me meaning of computer in their own understanding language.

Now, I have asked everyone to abbreviate each term of COMPUTER, it was very healthy conversation while we all are discussion each term. They have tried their level best  the abbreviate each alphabets, by this we can actually got to know that there so many word we can imagine, think and present, we can make some new words as well by using our imagination, during the session I heard some new words too, some of the words were weird but i really felt good because they at least tried.

You want the abbreviation, Here it is  :

C – Commonly

O – Operated

M – Machine

P – Particular

U – Used for

T – Trade,

E – Education &

R – Research

What is difference between Desktop & Laptop?

The 1st question that I asked them, how may of you have your own desktop or laptop at home? Only, 15% students have. I have then asked them tell me the difference between desktop and laptop in their understanding language. It was very good and interactive conversation.

I have then simply tell the term in one sentence,

A desktop refers to the style of computer that sits on top of a desk or under it.

A laptop is a small portable computer that you can carry anywhere you go.

During session Whenever I asked any question these kids are very excited to give answers to it, I have called some of them to come at front give the answer. These kids were really awesome. 🙂

100_8464

What is an Internet? How it works?

This was the highlight session for the day, because I have explained this term with different way.  Firstly, I have made some card boards with help of my friend Jitesh and named it as “Computer 1, Computer 2, Network 1, Network2, I.S.P, Google.com“, these are 6 card boards so I have called 6 students from crowd at front and then I gave one card to each students. Most, I liked it that, everyone wants to come at front wanted to be part of this demonstration but unfortunately I can’t called everyone but still they very exited to know that what I’m going to do with that card boards and students.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here, you can see how students were stood by holding the card boards, in my opinion, this was the best way to explain the working of internet. I have explained them, that computer 1&2 connected to Network 1&2 and how with the help of ISP the internet work and we can surf the sites like, Google.com,etc. All students & teachers were also enjoyed this demonstration.

Once I finished with my explanation, I have called some students to tell them working on internet which I explained earlier. Some students tried very well, those who little lack I have helped them to cover it up.

I have given some Swags to students those are very interactive during the session, those who have tried too! 🙂 These kids love the Firefox Stickers, you can see the happiness in their faces while holding it. I was glad that I was part of it.

At the end of session, one teacher from the staff came to me personally and gave me thanks and appreciated my session, this was special for me, when she was told me that before this session she didn’t know the meaning or working of I.S.P (Internet Service Provider) and but because of my explanation and technique to teach she really understand that better. Here I can say that, our efforts got a good result. 🙂

All teachers  & students loved the sessions and they want me to come again for some new sessions. If I get a chance I’d loved to come here again and again, because this inspired me too! 🙂

Awesome Crowd! 🙂

Group Selfie!!! 🙂

100_8482

Flicker Album

What Next?

They called us again so next will be scheduling 1+ day hands-on sessions in this school. Waiting for that.

What else need when day well spent with these awesome kids. This is motto and inspiration for me so will keep doing it! 🙂

Doing good is part of our code! 🙂 

 

Leave a comment